Go Back   LegalMatch Free Legal Advice Forums > Law Forums > Employment & Labor Law
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Find a Lawyer Now By Category:
Family & Divorce Criminal Defense Job & Employment Personal Injury LegalMatch on Facebook
  Real Estate Lawyers Immigration Business Lawyers Other Lawyers LegalMatch on Twitter
LegalMatch is Fast, Free and Confidential

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-21-2014, 11:20 AM   #1 (permalink)
dwr

Rights as a 1099 Independent Contractor in CA?

I just recently accepted a new job and am unsure of my rights as a worker. I am a 1099 Independent Contractor with a digital marketing company that was hired as an account executive (sales). I only get paid when I close sales through a commission structure and have to pay for everything on my own (biz cards, printer, computer, phone, airfare/hotel to go to company sales conference). I work from home and am the only person working for the company in my city and my "boss" is located 125 miles away.

Here is where I get confused. I am entering the training phase for my job which mostly entails listening in on nat'l sales conference calls twice weekly, watching videos on how to sell their products, and learning the "Company Sales Program." This program basically tells me how to cold call and sell their product word for word (I have to learn a set script on what to say to a potential client). My "boss" told me I am required to listen in on a one hour long conference call twice per week. I am also required to fill out a digital form at the end of each day, basically summarizing my work for the day so that my "boss" can keep track of my daily actions.