Go Back   LegalMatch Free Legal Advice Forums > Law Forums > Criminal Law
FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Find a Lawyer Now By Category:
Family & Divorce Criminal Defense Job & Employment Personal Injury LegalMatch on Facebook
  Real Estate Lawyers Immigration Business Lawyers Other Lawyers LegalMatch on Twitter
LegalMatch is Fast, Free and Confidential

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2009, 08:06 AM   #1 (permalink)

Unexpected warrant out for my arrest in another state

Hi there. My situation hopefully isn't too complicated and I think it will be an easy fix, but I would like some help/advice on the subject before I take action.

I just found out today that there's a warrant out for my arrest in Texas. I'm a recent college graduate and unemployed because of it. I live in Colorado. I lived in Texas for about a year and got into a traffic accident.

First offense:
I didn't have my driver's license on me (my purse had been stolen about a week before and the replacement was in the mail). The driver's license I carry is a Wisconsin state license, my home state, and they could find no records of me in their Texas database because (duh) my license was from out of state. They issued a couple of fines to me - one was my fault, I was driving without insurance, so I paid that one off even though my tags were Wisconsin tags and we aren't required to have insurance by law... anyway, and the second was obviously for not having valid license.

Second offense